Dear Saffie Rose Roussos

Roughly 14 years ago, I was your age. Little 8 year old me and the rest of my Girl Scout troop raised so much money by selling cookies we were able to buy tickets to the Hilary Duff concert at what was then called Gaylord Entertainment Center (now Bridgestone Arena). I was so excited, it was my first ever concert. I remember that feeling well.

I don’t know if this concert was your first, but I imagine, regardless, you were feeling the same way I felt all those years ago.

I wish that your concert experience went like mine. I wish that you got to go to sleep last night dreaming of what a wonderful night you had. I wish that in fourteen years you could look back on that experience fondly.

But you can’t.

What happened last night was a senseless act of violence.

How dare someone take the lives of those just wanting to enjoy and celebrate music. Music is sacred. Music is safe. How dare someone destroy that.

I am so sorry your life is over, and at so young. It’s not fair. It’s not fair that you went to have a good time and you had your life taken from you. 

To Georgina Callander, I’m sorry you had your life stripped away too when it was just beginning. I’m sorry that it happened while you were doing something you loved.

To Ariana Grande, I’m sorry this happened to you. It’s not your fault. 
Love,

Me

Leave a Reply

