Dear Cosplay Club

You are the best friends I’ve ever had.

I don’t know if I ever had a “friend group”. Hell, I barely had friends.

This was until a chance email arrived in my inbox. See, I had talked to a girl about cosplay when I was going through sorority recruitment (don’t ask, I don’t know why I did it. I didn’t actually make it). I completely forgot about that until later that year I ran into her in the lobby of my dorm. Turns out a friend of hers was starting a cosplay club, and she wanted to know if I wanted to be a part of it. Of course I did, I even ran for an office (I say ran like there was an election, I was the only one up for the position).

This was the beginning.

What started as a serious club that first semester devolved into a reason for five of us (with the occasional straggler or two) to meet up for dinner and hang out on Friday nights. Calling it a club meeting meant we could actually get time off from jobs and have an official excuse.

It started out as five of us. We added three more people as time went on. I don’t know what my life would be without the eight of you.

You’re some of the funniest, weirdest, most wonderful people I’ve ever had the pleasure of knowing.

We’ve bonded over anime, cosplay, memes, shared hatred of certain people, and weird snow day rituals.

I can’t believe how much we’ve grown together. We’re all adults now and yet all we ever cosplay is memes (and considering we’re almost infamous at one of the cons we’ve gone to, I think that’s a good thing).

Our group chat (which, dear reader, I kid you not, is called “Screaming Into The Void for Magnum Dong” with a bad .jpeg of Danny Devito as the group image) has been a constant source of support and laughs for three years.

I don’t want us to ever grow apart. Don’t ever change.

I love you all,

Me

Leave a Reply

