Dear Gorillaz

When I was 10, I first saw the music video for Feel Good Inc. It spawned an obsession. 

That one music video haunted me for the next couple years. I didn’t remember the band, or the song name, but I remembered how amazing it was. 

It was when I was 12 I rediscovered the band. And I fell deeply in love. With the band, with the music, and with 2D (a true fictional crush, fanfiction included).

When I was 14 I was wracked by my first big round of depression. The only thing that kept me afloat, it seemed, was “El Mañana” and Rise of the Ogre.

Yes, this is a love letter to the band that saved my life.

I don’t think I would have survived high school without them. Without the music or without the wacky antics of the band members.

In 2014, I got to see Damon Albarn live. While it’s not the same as seeing Gorillaz live, it was close enough for me. I cried as he sang Feel Good Inc and Clint Eastwood. These songs that had meant so much to me for so long were real and in front of me.
So now Humanz is out, after 7 years, and it isn’t a moment (Momentz?) too soon. 
I’m severely depressed right now. 
But in all of the darkness going on in my mind, there’s a glimmer of hope. And that is, and always has been, my favorite band.
Thank you Damon. Thank you Jamie. I doubt you’ll see this, but you saved my life. A young girl, a young woman now, suffering with mental health issues owes you two (and a host of other guest artists) her life.
Love,

Me

Leave a Reply

