Dear Carrie Fisher

Like many girls (and boys!) who grew up in a post-Star Wars world, I was enthralled with Princess Leia. She was strong and funny and competent as well as beautiful and feminine. She was really the first feminist icon many of us were introduced to.

Leia taught us to be strong. To be brave. To stand up for what we believe in. She also taught us we can do all these things while also being feminine.

I fell in love with you, Carrie, when I was a bit older. Your intelligent humor and brutal honesty spoke to me. You were a woman who went through hell and back and were brave enough to tell us the tale. Your struggles with bipolar disorder were so important for every young person struggling with mental illness.

It kills me I have to write “were” instead of “are.”

When my boyfriend broke the news that you “didn’t make it”, I couldn’t breathe. I am a massive fan of Star Wars. Not only did we lose Princess/Senator/General Leia Organa but we lost such a wonderful, special person far too soon. I still mourn you.

I am outraged at how the world treated you. Someone so intelligent and funny and beautiful should have been treated like a queen for all her life.

I am outraged that Billie Lourde, who’s only a couple years older than I am, now has to live her life without you and Debbie Reynolds.

You and your writing are the inspiration behind this blog (mostly). I strive to be half the writer you were. I want to inspire young women like you inspired me.

Thank you for sticking around as long as you did. Thank you for being who you were.
Love,

Me

Leave a Reply

